Predict end-point level 2 with repeat... PreviousNext
Mplus Discussion > Multilevel Data/Complex Sample >
Message/Author
 Kieran Ayling posted on Thursday, April 14, 2016 - 7:30 am
Hi, I am new to Mplus and trying to explore its capabilities to analyze some ecological momentary assessment type data. I have been conceptualizing as multilevel data - where individuals (level 2) have completed multiple (18) repeated measures of stress and positive affect over a 6 week time span (level 1), each of these measures are made up of 4 items. We have two health outcome variables that were measured at the end of the study.

I am interested in to what extent do stress and positive affect scores (the level 1 variables) predict these health outcomes (the level 2 variables measured at one time point)?

For this I could have created a mean score for level 1 variables and just done single level multiple regression in SPSS etc. - but I was hoping to make better use of the repeated nature of the level 1 variables. Is this something I can do in Mplus without separately aggregating - and if so how would this be specified - (while addressing any auto-correlation issues)?

Many thanks in advance for any assistance in this.
 Bengt O. Muthen posted on Thursday, April 14, 2016 - 6:24 pm
Let me first get clearer on the repeated measures. At how many time points are the subjects measured? And, how many measures are made at each time point? You say 18 repeated measures - is that 18 per time point (or 3 times a week for the 6 weeks)?
 Kieran Ayling posted on Friday, April 15, 2016 - 1:08 am
So our participants completed measures at 18 time points. 3 times a week for the 6 weeks. Approx. 150 participants.