When to list variables in %BETWEEN% s... PreviousNext
Mplus Discussion > Multilevel Data/Complex Sample >
Message/Author
 Michael DeKay posted on Friday, July 21, 2017 - 10:15 am
Drs. Muthen,

I'm relatively new to Mplus. I would like to know when (and why) to list or not list variables in the %BETWEEN% section along with a regression in which those variables are already included as predictors. Here is the relevant part of some code:

VARIABLE:
NAMES =
...;
USEVARIABLES =
...;
MISSING ARE ALL (-999);
CLUSTER = SubScen;

ANALYSIS:
TYPE = TWOLEVEL;

MODEL:
%WITHIN%
Pref ON Distort PrevPref;
%BETWEEN%
Distort; PrevPref;

The results of this code depend on whether the variables Distort and PrevPref are listed under %BETWEEN%. For example, when they are listed, the coefficient for Distort in the between regression is 1.658, p=.090. But when that line is omitted, the coefficient is 0.378, p=.824. The former output includes the variances of the two variables at both levels and the latent means at the between level, but the latter does not. I'm wondering whether the latent centering isn't happening when the variable are not listed. Why would that be?

I have most often seen models without such variables listed (e.g., in UG 9.1), but I've also seen models with several such variables listed (e.g., in slides for cross-classified path analysis).

Thanks,
Mike
 Bengt O. Muthen posted on Friday, July 21, 2017 - 2:17 pm
When you say

%BETWEEN%
Distort; PrevPref;

you estimate the variances of those 2 latent covariates. But make sure to also estimate their covariance so it isn't fixed at zero (check the output) because that could be a mis-specification that would explain your different results.

Typically, you mention covariate variances when you want to handle missing data on the covariates. See chapter 10 of our new book.
 Michael DeKay posted on Monday, July 24, 2017 - 12:14 pm