Multilevel SEM for Diary Study PreviousNext
Mplus Discussion > Multilevel Data/Complex Sample >
Message/Author
 Paraskevas Petrou posted on Friday, July 02, 2010 - 5:45 am
Dear Mplus users,

I have used MlwiN software to do multilevel analysis to diary data. In my analyses day-level variables (time points) are nested within persons. All day-level variables (measured over 5 days) predict day-level variables, after controling for the trait-level versions of outcomes. I did 4 analyses which imply mediation but now I want to combine them all in one model, so as to test a multilevel SEM for mediation: day-level x1, x2 and x1*x2 (interaction) predicting day-level x3, x4, x5 (controlling for trait-level x3, x4, x5) and day-level x3-x5 predicting day-level x6 (controlling for trait-level x6).

I am new in Mplus but I read that for this type of analysis, I should look at Growth Modeling and/or Survival Analysis. Here are my questions:

1. Is it chapter 6 of the Guide that is appropriate for my analysis? And if so, is it called survival analysis what I need to do? Which example should I study?

2. Does my data set need to have the multilevel structure (time points nested within persons)? Can I use the data file I have been using for MlwiN or are there any other preparations I need to do in the file before I start analyzing?

Any help would be very much appreciated.

Kind regards
Paris Petrou
 Bengt O. Muthen posted on Friday, July 02, 2010 - 10:10 am
Can you give a little more information about the model, such as what is meant by "day-level" variables and "trait-level" sources of the outcome? Is there a particularly pertinent reference that you can give or can you write out the statistical model?
 Paraskevas Petrou posted on Friday, July 09, 2010 - 12:19 pm
Bengt, thank you very much for your prompt reaction.